Thursday, December 31, 2009

Page 6: Butch Karp and Marlene Ciampi

Robert K. Tanenbaum has been writing best sellers since 1987 when No Lesser Plea was published.  The amazing thing is that this was the first book in a series that now numbers 22 books with the 22nd scheduled to be published in 2010.  His background is just as amazing as his books.  According to the book jacket on one of his novels: "Robert K. Tanenbaum is one of the country's most successful trial lawyers--he has never lost a felony case.  He has held such prestigious positions as homicide bureau chief for the New York District Attorney's Office and deputy chief counsel to the congressional committee investigations into the assassinations of President John F. Kennedy and Dr. Martin Luther King Jr".  He is also a former two-term mayor of Beverly Hills.

A friend of mine introduced me to this series and I have read every one except the two latest.  You are introduced to Butch Karp and Marlene Ciampi in the early books as well as their hectic lives.  Butch is Jewish, but not religious.  Marlene is Sicilian, religious, and superstitious.  What a match!  The supporting cast includes lawyers, police, politicians, reporters, FBI agents, terrorists, corrupt officials, and very interesting street people who hang out at the Criminal Courts Building.

The Fantastic Fiction website has a very brief elevator synopsis for each book.  Check them out at and you will get a good flavor for each book.  The characters mature through the years, become even better than at the beginning, and become involved in a variety of life and death and good vs. evil plots.  If you like legal thrillers, or even think you would like them, these books are for you.  I may even go back and start reading them from the beginning again.  That is how good I think they are.  Here is a list of all the books in the series and their publishing dates:

No Lesser Plea (1987)
Depraved Indifference (1989)
Immoral Certainty (1991)
Reversible Error (1992)
Material Witness (1993)
Justice Denied (1994)
Corruption of Blood (1994)
Falsely Accused (1996)
Irresistible Impulse (1997)
Reckless Endangerment (1998)
Act of Revenge (1999)
True Justice (2000)
Enemy Within (2001)
Absolute Rage (2002)
Resolved (2003)
Hoax (2004)
Fury (2005)
Counterplay (2006)
Malice (2007)
Escape (2008)
Capture (2009)
Betrayal (2010)

I hope you enjoy them as much as I have.

No comments:

Post a Comment